Arkansas Court Reporters

If you want to learn how to become a court reporter by meeting licensing requirements in Arkansas, you must complete a number of steps:

According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, court reporters in Arkansas earned starting salaries that ranged between $39, 990 and $47, 310, as of May 2012.

The Arkansas Board of Certified Court Reporter Examiners certifies court reporters in Arkansas. Only those who attain certification can hold the title of Arkansas Supreme Court-Certified Court Reporter, and are permitted to practice in the State of Arkansas.

Step 1. Complete a Certificate or Degree Program in Court Reporting

Although it is not a requirement to do so for certification in Arkansas, you may seek a court reporter degree or certificate program that has been approved by the Council on Approved Student Education (CASE), which is part of the National Court Reporters Association (NCRA). Only those schools that have been approved are considered NCRA Certified.

Explore Other Education Options Related to Criminal Justice and Legal Studies

Here you’ll find schools that offer certificate and degree programs well suited to a career in legal assisting, law office management and the paralegal profession.

Step 2. Pass the Arkansas Certification Examination

Upon completion of a program in court reporting, you may apply to take the Arkansas Certification Examination, which includes both a written and skills test:

The written test assesses individuals in:

  • Spelling
  • Vocabulary
  • Punctuation
  • General knowledge
  • Rules governing preparation of transcripts

You must score at least 75 percent to pass the written portion of the test.

The skills test requires individuals to successfully complete the following:

  • 5 minutes of one-voice dictation at 180 wpm
  • 5 minutes of one-voice dictation of jury charge at 200 wpm
  • 5 minutes of two-voice dictation of Q&A at 225 wpm

You must achieve at least 95 percent accuracy to pass the skills portion of the test. If you fail one of the sections, you may retake the failed section of the exam. However, if you fail either portion twice, you will be required to retake the entire examination again, regardless if you have already passed one of the sections.

Arkansas man confronts reporter
Arkansas man confronts reporter
Court Reporter Desha County, AR (866) 357-1796 Arkansas
Court Reporter Desha County, AR (866) 357-1796 Arkansas
Share this Post

Related posts

Atlanta Court Reporters

Atlanta Court Reporters

APRIL 10, 2021

Serving as an Atlanta court reporter service involves much more than sending someone out to type all of the words uttered…

Read More
Okanagan Court Reporters

Okanagan Court Reporters

APRIL 10, 2021

Respecting the rights of our neighbours and ensuring that our property values are maintained is an important aspect of community…

Read More