Maricopa County Official Court

Court Reporter Certification

That year, NCRA's first certification program was established to individually recognize the competence of court reporters. In the first year 27 reporters passed the first exam, establishing themselves as "Certified Professionals, " or CPs.

Since then, NCRA's certification programs have become perhaps your most valuable membership benefit. The certification program now has three tiers of achievement and proudly claims nearly 11, 000 Registered Professional Reporters (RPRs), the updated equivalent of the CP. Over 2, 100 reporters have earned the next level of certification, the Registered Merit Reporter (RMR), and over 450 have become Registered Diplomate Reporters (RDRs). In addition, there are over 2, 350 Certified Realtime Reporters (CRR), 289 Certified Broadcast Captioners (CBC) and 228 Certified Cart Providers (CCP).

Registered Professional Reporter (RPR)

Just ask a RPR what he or she thinks about the program-81 percent say their RPR designation is valuable to them as individual reporters and 94 percent say RPR certification is an important part of the court reporting profession.

Your RPR means more recognition and respect from your clients, employers, and fellow reporters. Your RPR means more job opportunities and referrals from fellow reporters.

In its comprehensive study of the court reporting profession, Hay Management Consultants refers to the RPR as an entry-level designation. This study, then, clearly establishes 66 percent of NCRA members as professionals

Registered Merit Reporter (RMR)

Once you have established yourself as an RPR, your next step is to become an advanced-level court reporter by passing the Registered Merit Reporter Exam.

With your RMR, your peers and clients will recognize you as one of the top court reporters in the country. Your RMR gives you more opportunities for challenging and lucrative job assignments, an opportunity to compete in NCRA's National Speed Contest, the inspiration to enhance your skills and become an even more valuable part of the judicial system, eligibility to become an RDR, and 0.25 PDCs for passing each leg of the exam.

In its comprehensive analysis of reporting, Hay Management Consultants refers to the RMR, which 16 percent of RPRs have earned, as a level of achievement worthy of a higher salary and more recognition. NCRA now boasts over 3, 000 RMRs.

Certified Realtime ReporterRegistered Diplomate Reporter (RDR)

The court reporting profession's most talented professionals have the opportunity to prove themselves. If you have exhibited exemplary skills in all areas of court reporting, if you are actively involved in court reporting and served as a consultant or leader in the profession, then you are ready to sit for the Registered Diplomate Reporter Examination.

The RDR is the highest level of certification available to court reporters. You'll also earn 0.25 PDCs. This certification program was developed to allow high-level, seasoned reporters to distinguish themselves as members of the profession's elite.

In its comprehensive analysis of the profession, Hay Management Consultants refers to the RDR as the epitome of excellence among court reporters. As of this writing, NCRA boasts more than 350 RDRs.

Certified Realtime Reporter (CRR)

Prove you're on the cutting edge. Become a Certified Realtime Reporter and take advantage of the growing number of opportunities becoming available to realtime reporters. As one of the top national programs that certifies your ability in realtime, attaining the CRR designation commands instant respect and the immediate attention of potential employers.

Certified Realtime Captioner (CRC)

In recent years, there has been an increased demand in captioning training. To meet that demand, NCRA has developed the new Certified Realtime Captioner (CRC) certification and workshop. With the transition to this format, members will now be able to receive captioning training as well as resources they need to transition to captioning. This program has been designed to complement the TRAIN program and increase realtime proficiency. The ultimate goal is not only to certify more individuals but also provide the tools necessary to be successful in the field.

Certified Legal Video Specialist (CLVS)

The CLVS program sets and enforces standards for competency in the capture, utilization, and retention of legal video and promotes awareness of these standards within the legal marketplace. Legal videographers partner with court reporters to ensure the integrity of both the video of legal proceedings and the official transcript.

Certified Reporting Instructor (CRI)

The Certified Reporting Instructor (CRI) program for teachers of court reporting has been developed to encourage excellence in the educational programs that prepare tomorrow's court reporters.

United States: Supreme Court Docket Report - May 18, 2015
United States: Supreme Court Docket Report - May 18, 2015 ...
A Court Date for the Birth Certificate
A Court Date for the Birth Certificate
Spotlight on Court Reporting and Captioning Video
Spotlight on Court Reporting and Captioning Video
Share this Post

Related posts

Court Reporters qualifications

Court Reporters qualifications

APRIL 14, 2021

Wisconsin does not require licensure or certification of court reporters. We believe our clients deserve better. There is…

Read More
Court Reporters Association

Court Reporters Association

APRIL 14, 2021

Wilmington - October 23 - 25, 2015 (Friday - Sunday) Our Fall Conference will be held October 23-25, 2015, in Wilmington…

Read More