Southern Clinic, P.C. | Dothan

Merit Court Reporting

For testing dates, location, costs, etc., please visit the .

Once you have established yourself as an RPR, your next step is to become an advanced-level court reporter by passing the Registered Merit Reporter Exam.

With your RMR, your peers and clients will recognize you as one of the top court reporters in the country. Your RMR gives you:

  • More opportunities for challenging and lucrative job assignments
  • An opportunity to compete in NCRA's National Speed Contest
  • The inspiration to enhance your skills and become an even more valuable part of the judicial system
  • Eligibility to become an RDR
  • 0.25 PDCs for passing each leg of the exam

In its comprehensive analysis of reporting, Hay Management Consultants refers to the RMR, which 16 percent of RPRs have earned, as a level of achievement worthy of a higher salary and more recognition. NCRA now boasts over 3, 000 RMRs.

Who is eligible to sit for the RMR Exam?

To apply for the RMR Exam, you must be a member of NCRA and an RPR.

What it takes to pass the RMR Exam

To earn your RMR, you'll have to pass three sections of a skills test that evaluates you in three areas: Literary at 200 wpm, Jury Charge at 240 wpm, and Testimony/Q&A at 260 wpm. After dictation, you have 75 minutes to transcribe your notes from each leg. You must have 95 percent accuracy on each leg to pass.

You do not have to pass all sections of the exam at one sitting. As long as you maintain your NCRA membership, you will retain credit for the sections passed. There is no time limit for earning the RMR.

Differences between the RMR program and the former CM

All NCRA members who were members in good standing at the time of conversion (on Nov. 4, 1994) were automatically converted to the new program as RMRs, unless they requested otherwise. Nonmembers will retain their CM designation.

In order to maintain your RMR, you'll need to maintain continuous membership and your RPR certification. You will renew both your RPR and RMR simultaneously with the same 3.0 CEUs. In other words, you won't have to earn a total of 6.0 CEUs to renew your RPR and RMR.

By participating in NCRA's Continuing Education program, RMRs will maintain their skills and stay on top of the latest changes in the court reporting profession.

Recognition of your achievement

After you have earned your RMR, you'll receive a handsome certificate to display in your home or office. Your RMR also gets recognition in the Journal of Court Reporting, the NCRA Sourcebook, and on NCRA's website.

Share this Post

Related posts

CCR Court Reporting

CCR Court Reporting

APRIL 14, 2021

Hobart, IN - The College of Court Reporting (CCR) in Hobart, Indiana, has proved that court reporting students who take classes…

Read More
Jensen Court Reporting

Jensen Court Reporting

APRIL 14, 2021

Jensen has been in the business of court reporting since 1986, providing the finest court reporters in the field to help…

Read More